The Movistar Team confirmed on Monday its eight-man lineup for the 74th edition of the Vuelta a España (Saturday 24th August – Sunday 15th September). The squad managed by Eusebio Unzué will take the start in the Alicante province with a lineup composed by Alejandro Valverde, Nairo Quintana, Richard Carapaz, Marc Soler, Imanol Erviti, Nelson Oliveira, Jorge Arcas and Antonio Pedrero.

José Luis Arrieta and Pablo Lastras will be the sports directors of the Blue squad, which will fulfil in 2019 its 40th consecutive appearance in the Vuelta since 1980. In all this time since their debut under Reynolds’ sponsorship, the Abarca Sports organisation has notched up four overall victories, 12 podium finishes, 61 stage wins and 10 team GC triumphs 

Update 22-08:

The Movistar Team confirmed Thursday that Richard Carapaz will not take the start of the 74th Vuelta a España, which begins in Alicante on Saturday, despite being part of the lineup originally announced.

The Ecuadorian rider suffers from a significant contusion in his right shoulder, as well as several bruises, after a crash sustained in the Profronde van Etten-Leur criterium in the Netherlands, last Sunday. In spite of treatment received all over the week and the lack of fractures, the injury’s evolution has advised for further precautions to allow it healing completely, which rules out against his appearance in the race.

José Joaquín Rojas, initially designated as a reserve for the Blues in the Vuelta and already in Alicante since Wednesday, will be part of an eight-man roster which also includes Valverde, Quintana, Soler, Erviti, Pedrero, Arcas and Oliveira.