BMC Racing Team today confirmed the nine riders who will line up at the Vuelta a Espãna next week.

Sports Director Valerio Piva said the team was selected to not only support Samuel Sánchez for the General Classification, but target stage wins throughout the race.

“We have chosen a strong, balanced team built around Samuel Sánchez and Tejay van Garderen. Sánchez is our leader for the General Classification and van Garderen is another protected rider. The rest of the riders have been selected for their ability to win stages. Riders like Philippe Gilbert, Ben Hermans, Silvan Dillier, and Danilo Wyss are all capable of going in a breakaway and trying to win a stage. Of course all nine are really good riders and we have a strong team who will help protect Sánchez and position him well,” Piva said.

The Team Time Trial on stage 1 of the Vuelta a Espãna is a priority for BMC Racing Team.

“The first objective for us is the Team Time Trial. It’s a tradition in our team and as the UCI World Champions in the discipline we want to do well, which means we will try to win this and take the first leader’s jersey,” Piva explained.

Sánchez and van Garderen have already shared their thoughts on the final Grand Tour of the season.

“I believe we will bring a very competent and focused team for what will be a very hard Vuelta a Espãna,” Sánchez said.

“I’m excited for the Team Time Trial as it gives us a good chance to take the jersey.” van Garderen confirmed.

Rider roster: Darwin Atapuma (COL), Silvan Dillier (SUI), Jempy Drucker (LUX), Philippe Gilbert (BEL), Ben Hermans (BEL), Samuel Sánchez (ESP), Dylan Teuns (BEL), Tejay van Garderen (USA), Danilo Wyss (SUI)