Movistar Team confirms Monday the line-up the telephone squad will bring to the start of the 99th Giro d’Italia in Apeldoorn (NED), on Friday. José Luis Jaimerena and Chente García Acosta will direct Eusebio Unzué’s squad, led by Alejandro Valverde. The nine-man roster also includes Andrey Amador, Giovanni Visconti, Carlos Betancur, Rory Sutherland, Jasha Sütterlin, Javi Moreno, José Joaquín Rojas and José Herrada.

Valverde, winner in 2016 of the Vueltas a Castilla y León and Andalucía and author of a supreme finish in last April’s Flèche Wallonne, will find excellent support from Amador, 4th-place finisher in the 2015 ‘Corsa Rosa’, powerful rouleurs Sütterlin and Sutherland, talented climbers Herrada, Moreno and Betancur and qualified allrounders Rojas and Visconti, the latter winner of the ‘Maglia Azzurra’ as miglior scalatore in 2015.